Treasury - Township of Melbourne

Go to content

Main menu:


Municipal services

The treasury department is responsible for the production of the tax bills and for sending these tax bills to the owners of properties situated on the territory of the Township of Melbourne. The rates of taxation are fixed by regulation according to the budgetary choices adopted by the council.

Instalment dates for 2017 are as followings:

1st payment: March 1st, 2017
2nd payment: May 1st, 2017
3rd payment: July 3rd, 2017
4th payment: October 2nd, 2017

Please click on the following links to view the municipal budget.

Budget 2015

Change of address

To make a change of address for your file, you should contact the municipality during regular office hours and have on hand, the roll number and the address of your property.

Transfer tax

Since January 1992, the taxation of the immovables transfers tax is compulsory.  Consult the Act respecting duties on transfers of immovables

The amount of the duties on the transfer of immovables is calculated on the greatest among the following amounts:

The purchase price of the property;
The amount of the transaction registered on the act of transfer;
The amount of the real market value of the building or property at the time of sale.

The amount of the duties on the transfer of immovables is calculated according to the following scale:

0,5 % on the first $50 000;
1,0 % on the amount in excess of $50,000 but not exceeding $250,000;
1,5 % on the amount which exceeds $250 001.

***The municipality does not reissue a property tax bill following a property transfer. However, the new owner is responsible for making sure the taxes are paid.***
Back to content | Back to main menu